Psalm 81:10

“I am the LORD your God, who brought you up out of Egypt.

Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.”

Psalm 81:10, NLT

Image

In Exodus 20, years before the book of Psalms was written, God gave instructions to the people which included the duties to God as well as the duties to man. He started His instructions with “I am the Lord your God, who rescued you from the land of Egypt, the place of your slavery,” (Exodus 20:2). He is Jehovah, the only God to be worshiped. No other God is to be recognized. In Psalm 81:10, God once again says the same thing: “I am the LORD your God who brought you up out of Egypt…” He is making it clear in announcing who He is that He is the only God to be worshiped. This God brought the people out of Egypt, something none but God could do. In doing this His name was glorified and His power and existence was shown.

By saying “open wide your mouth and I will fill it,” more than likely God means that He can supply your needs. You do not need to seek out another God to fulfill your needs. God does not lack in power, nor does he lack in resources. He will supply more than enough. We just have to ask Him. Psalm 37:3-4 tells us to “Trust in the Lord and do good. Then you will live safely in the land and prosper. Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you your heart’s desires.” 

Psalm 81:10, to me, is saying that we need to put our trust in the Lord and ask Him to fulfill our needs. Only He is capable of doing this. Only He is worthy of worshiping. We need to open our mouths wide and tell Him our needs. Only then will He fill us with blessings.

 

 

P31 OBS Blog Hop

6 thoughts on “Psalm 81:10

  1. Michelle love this. So glad I chose this one to read. I blogged on Ps 81:10 also but used birds and I wish I had seen this first. I have a new grandson 1 month old yesterday and have some precious pictures with his mouth open. Yours is so precious. Thanks for sharing. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader)

  2. A good reminder that God will provide us with everything we need. Sometimes in our world of thinking we need it all will cloud our thankful heart of where the gifts come from in the first place. Praying for you. Hoping you are able to get some stress free time in between all the schedules for kids school and activities. Any new job ideas?

    1. Thank you! You are right. Sometimes we need to step back and take a look at our lives from the outside to get a fresh perspective. I’m working on my resume and going to a counseling center next week to see if they need volunteers or interns. Hopefully they will, however if not then hopefully they can lead me in the right direction. I would rather work part-time, but will say yes to whatever God needs me for.

Leave a Reply

