#StickWithIt

Image

Life can be challenging. There are so many things to do and not enough time to do them in a day, or sometimes even a week! My six-year old daughter has cheerleading twice a week – Monday and Thursday. Wednesday nights are Awana nights. Saturdays are early morning football games where she cheers. Sunday morning is church, and then sometimes in the evenings we have dinner with my family. That leaves a Tuesday open and everybody knows that Tuesday is that day of the week that we are already exhausted! I’m not complaining because secretly I like the go-go-go of my life. (Shhh…don’t tell anybody!)

I am currently in a Bible Study through Proverbs 31 Ministries. We are working through a book by Lysa TerKeurst (whom I adore!) called “What Happens When Women Say Yest to God.” This book has changed my perspective on quite a few different areas in my life. Last week, the third week of the study, I was feeling a little down because I was reading about my other sisters in Christ and how they have heard God speak to them. They all had amazing, touching stories about their walk with God. I loved this. However, I still had not heard from God and I was sort of wondering when it was my turn. I thought maybe I was doing the study wrong, perhaps not putting enough time and passion into it. But then, Sunday at the end of church service, I heard it. God’s voice.

In our church bulletin there was a card called Vision Sunday. On this card were places to check for you to help with the church. Now this is not my home church and we are not currently members there. However, we’ve been attending for a while. So in my mind I did not feel comfortable enough to check any box on that card. However, at the end of service, while standing in prayer, I kept hearing, “Nursery Worker.” I thought, “Say what? A nursery worker? ME? I do not feel comfortable working with other peoples’ children. God, is that really You?” I kept hearing the words repeat themselves until I looked back at the card I had so nicely tucked away into my bag. There at the bottom of the card were the words “Nursery Worker” with a small check box placed just to the left. I found myself taking my pen and checking that little box. After clicking my pen closed, I no longer heard the words “nursery worker” and I swear I could feel God smile.

Honestly, week one and two of the study were so fresh and exciting to me. But by week three I was feeling a little drained and down that I still had not heard from God. But then at the end of the week, there He was, speaking to me and calling me out to help in the nursery. I had thought of giving up. However, now I am chosing to #StickWithIt because I know that I am going to hear from God more often. I am learning how to find a peaceful place and just be quiet and listen. Psalm 37:7 tells us to “be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for Him to act.”

I could have quit, I could have just given up. But I feel like giving up on the study is giving up on God. In her book, Lysa says, “It isn’t going to be easy. But we have Jesus and His power and that power is able to completely change our outlook on life.” How amazing is that statement? We have the power of Jesus to change the way we see our lives! When going through hard times, we sometimes feel all alone. However, we can lean on Jesus and #StickWithIt!

Are you going through something now in your life that you would like to quit because it isn’t easy? How do you see yourself getting through it?

 

“Rejoice in what God is doing in me through difficult times.” ~ Lysa TerKeurst

P31 OBS Blog Hop

21 thoughts on “#StickWithIt

  1. This is a great blog. A few years ago I heard God calling me to participate in some ministries as well. I first tried the Prison Ministry but no one ever called and I never got into the ministry. I also decided to help out in Children’s Church. Which I did become part of at the time. It wasn’t long after that they needed help in the Nursery and I have worked there ever since. Even after working there for so many years I still wonder if that was the right place for me to go. Not because I don’t enjoy it but because shortly after I got the nursery position the church split and the majority of the children left the church along with their families. It has been a struggle but I know this is where God wants me to be at this time in my life. I love those children. I know you will join the working in the nursery as well.

    1. Thank you! I had wanted to be in the Prison Ministry as well and even took some classes on Criminal Justice. However, I quickly learned this just was not for me. I am so excited to be a part of the nursery! Thank you for the encouragement. It means a lot! God bless!

  2. Michelle – great story! I am so thankful you stuck with it. God can speak to us in so many ways: circumstances, people, His word! Way to say yes! Stephanie Solberg ((OBS Small Group Leader)

  3. You go girl! I sometimes feel like everyone is hearing from God, but I don’t, I feel down too. I am so glad you listened and checked that box! God wants you in there for a reason! 😀 Can’t wait to hear more!
    PS: Sometimes I like the go-go-go too! Shhh! Our secret!

  4. Great post, so proud that you decided to #StickWithIt! Sometimes it’s the patience part that God is working on! Be prepared to hear a lot more from God, you will be blessed when you say yes!

  5. Oh, I loved reading about your hearing so clearly that you should help at the nursery. That is such a confirmation that God wants to be involved in your life, as in the lives of all His children. That is why I love James 4:8, and sticking with this Bible Study, is exactly that: drawing near to God!

  6. Awesome post Michelle! God calls all of us – just in His timing which is perfect. He knows what you are capable of with Him right at your side! I can see your commitment to Him unfolding by just reading this blog post – you are opening your palms to Him and listening to Him lead you!

  7. Great Post! I have felt the same way in that I have heard of so many people hearing from God, but I wasn’t sure if I have heard from Him. That gets discouraging. God does speak in different ways and I know He has a plan for each of us. So glad that you said Yes to His prompting! Good luck with the nursery! I’ve worked in the nursery a few times.. it can be a lot of fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

