Psalm 23 – Day 4

Psalm 23 – Day 4

Psalm 23:4

Verse 4

Image

Even when I walk through the darkest valley,

I will not be afraid,

There are many times in our lives when we are frightened by experiences we face. However, as the Lord’s sheep, we can walk with the Lord with pure trust and not be afraid. Sometimes we are tested, but we will be protected. There is no reason for fear when we walk with God. The Lord never leaves us. He is always with us. There is no reason to fear. I don’t know about you, but I find great comfort in that.

For you are close beside me.

Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.”

The rod was used to drive away wild animals, protecting the sheep. The staff was a thin pole used to assist the sheep. The use of these two instruments can be very important in helping us to understand God’s character. He is always willing to help His sheep and to guide them. God disciplines us with love always.

Reflection

I have had many experiences in which I have been terrified. Before I knew the Lord I lived my life in fear that things would only be terrible for me. However, I know have trust and faith in the Lord and I walk with Him. I am no longer afraid. I do not fear the tests that come my way because I know God is behind them and He will protect me. With His rod He will scare off the things I cannot handle and with His staff He will guide me. I am comforted by Him.

Prayer

Dear Lord,

Thank you for walking with me and protecting me during frightening times. Thank you for comforting me with your rod and staff. Lord, please continue to protect me during trials and tests. I will walk with You always.

In Jesus’s name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

