Psalm 23 Bible Study

Psalm 23:1 – Day 1Image

I want to try a little something different. I have been praying on Psalm 23, reading it every day when I wake up, every night before I fall asleep, and in between when I am feeling like my world is crumbling. The more I read it the more I see the verses working themselves out in my life. So I want to do a little study on the meaning of each of the six verses throughout the Psalm. I would like you to also study Psalm 23. I would like to see how the verses are playing out in your own life. Perhaps you can start a prayer journal and write down a verse a day and explain what the verse means to you. Either way, I would love for you to be a part of this journey. Let’s get started!

Verse 1

“The Lord is my shepherd;

God is like our shepherd, protecting us from evil and helping us to find all that we need. When we step out of line, or off the path, God gently prods us back to where we need to be. This is our relationship with God. He is there to guide us, like a shepherd guides his sheep.

I have all that I need.”

If we allow the Lord to be our shepherd, then He will provide. We shall have all that we need. He is our supplier.

Reflection

I have read and reread Psalm 23 many times before verse one stuck out at me. I was going through a very difficult time and came across a website that mentioned this verse. It was as if God was highlighting it for me. I knew by just this first verse that I would be okay. Everything was going to be fine because the Lord is my shepherd and with Him I have all that I need. Have you seen this verse work for you? How?

Prayer

Dear Lord,

Thank you for protecting me. Thank you for prodding me when I stray from Your path. Thank you for supplying me with all that I need. I pray for your continuous protection. I pray that You nudge me back onto Your path whenever I stray so that I may walk with You forever.

In Jesus’s name I pray,

Amen

 

Leave a Reply

